top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Woods

The Growth Mindset

As a teacher, I have always believed that if students worked hard and approached learning with the right attitude, they truly could achieve anything. Once I was introduced to the concept of a growth mindset, I quickly realized that I did not share this same belief about myself. Why was I so eager to empower young learners, yet unable to provide myself with the same fervor? What follows is a deep, reflective dive into uncharted waters as I seek to examine how to develop a growth mindset.


You can follow along in the presentation or you will find the transcript written below.

Begin with the why.


I have always had a love for learning. When I became an educator I sought to instill that same interest into the students around me. It turns out I may have been my own worst enemy, not only to my mission, but to myself as a learner. What follows is a plan to improve upon my own approach to learning, how to support others in the process, and most importantly the reasons to embark on such a shift.


There are two types of mindsets for the learner, fixed and growth (Dweck, 2006, pp.6-7). The fixed mindset believes that one’s intelligence is static, that the brain is fixed and qualities are carved in stone. The growth mindset treats the brain more like a muscle that reacts and is strengthened when exercised properly. Dweck (2006) explains that although we all may start with differing initial talents or skills, “everyone has the potential to change and grow through application and experience” (p. 7).


Throughout my introduction to the growth mindset, I have found this idea to be personally enlightening. The fixed mindset seems to be a form of mental captivity, where one feels they are locked in a predestined capacity of intelligence, victim to the rigor of academia. They are then bound to the rat race of comparison and competition, wishing ill will towards the progression of those around them in an attempt to protect their own status.

Implementation: The 4 Steps


Step 1. Learn to hear my fixed mindset. It is amazing how simply acknowledging an issue can immediately help you to begin changing. Personally, I must continue to be on the lookout for my fixed mindset, especially during specific circumstances when I know it will easily be triggered. Stressful situations and negative feedback are ideal grounds for my fixed mindset to make an appearance.


Step 2. Recognize that I have a choice. No longer do I have to be a victim to perfectionist standards that desire to be flawless immediately, but I can be comfortable in the journey. I can shift my focus from striving to be better than others to learning for the betterment of myself.


Step 3. Talk back with your growth mindset voice. When challenges or setbacks arise, I have committed to asking myself growth-minded questions, rather than focusing on the difficult situation. What can I learn? What should the next step be? How should I adjust my plan moving forward?


Step 4. Take the growth mindset action. I have always been quick to blame myself, then turn my disappointment on others. No more. The growth mindset allows the learner to be comfortable in the learning process. I will embrace this aspect rather than seeking to justify why unwanted setbacks occurred.

 

Spreading the Message


In the school district where I serve, I primarily work with teachers as an instructional coach with a focus on technology integration. This process promotes the idea that teachers are continuous learners, where they view themselves as students of their field and work to develop their craft. The coaching method used by our district is loosely based on the work of Jim Knight as detailed in his book The Impact Cycle (2006).

In order to improve classroom instruction, the first part of the cycle asks coaches to help the teacher assess their current reality and then IDENTIFY an area in which they would like to grow. As we collaborate to set goals with the purpose of enhancing this area, it is imperative that the growth mindset is activated.

True change will not occur unless both the teacher and the coach believe that “teaching” is not a gift, but a skill that can be massively developed through effort and the implementation of different instructional strategies.

The school district and campus where I work are very familiar with the growth mindset concept. This is the foundation on which I build and will continue to build relationships. Practically, I will consistently use “growth terminology” in order to reinforce this mindset throughout every coaching cycle. Teachers will hear about the power of “yet.”


The growth mindset is a term that is used frequently in education these days. I have seen it mentioned in campus improvement plans, the names of student clubs include the term, and it even shows up on a t-shirt every now and then. However, I fear that our staff is unfamiliar with the idea of a false growth mindset.


Dweck (2013) emphasizes that one of the common misunderstandings with this process is that simply encouraging more effort equates in fostering a growth mindset. In order to combat this, we must also encourage the use of different strategies. While coaching teachers, after the current reality has been assessed, a measurable goal has been set, we then explore strategies to meet that goal. Rather than simply telling a teacher to “just try harder,” we will investigate various methods in order to improve that specific area of instruction.


Every school year, I plan to help facilitate a coaching cycle for every teacher on campus at least once. In order to consistently operate in the growth mindset, both personally and with my peers, I will need to revisit and utilize various resources available. I have Dr. Dweck’s book Mindset: the new psychology of success annotated and dogeared, ready to be referenced. There are also several impactful speakers, whose videos can be found via TED Talks and YouTube. To promote a true growth mindset and continue to try different strategies, I will use various instructional playbooks, designed to support teachers in their professional development.


Growth Mindset Resources

 

The Process Starts Now


The growth mindset will be a foundational component in my approach to this graduate program. While drafting responses to these thinking prompts, I found myself at a divergence. Play it safe, answer the way you know they want to hear, move on. Or take a risk, make the learning personal and impactful to you and see what happens.


I have attempted to take these concepts, theories, and ideas and make them applicable to myself and my place of influence. I admit my fixed voice begins to speak when thinking about how my thoughts and interpretations will be received. I plan to continue to take risks, challenge my abilities, and embrace the learning process.


I now know my why.


References


Dweck, C. S. (2016). Mindset: The new psychology of success. New York, NY: Ballantine

Books.


Dweck, C. (2019, May 8). Carol Dweck Revisits the 'Growth Mindset'. Retrieved October 15, 2019, from https://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2015/09/23/carol-dweck-revisits-the-growth-mindset.html


Frost, R. (1921). The Road Not Taken. Retrieved, October 19, 2019 from

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/44272/the-road-not-taken


JFK Rice Moon Speech. (n.d.). Retrieved October 20, 2019, from https://er.jsc.nasa.gov/seh/ricetalk.htm


Knight, J. (2018). The impact cycle: What instructional coaches should do to foster powerful improvements in teaching. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin, A Sage Company.


Saunders, R. (Photographer). (2012). Woodland Path 2 [digital image]. Retrieved from https://www.flickr.com/photos/ronsaunders47/6992400815


The Impact Cycle [Online Image]. (n.d.) Retrieved from https://www.instructionalcoaching.com/research/.

120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page