top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Woods

Professional Learning Networks

What better way for an educator to network, learn and grow than to connect with other educators that share the same passions, interests and goals.

One of the most powerful components about working in the field of education in the 21st century is the ability to connect, collaborate and learn from the collective community of fellow educators. The ability for educators to both access and provide a vast amount of quality resources and training is invaluable. I have served in education since 2010 and have struggled at times with developing creative lessons, remembering solid pedagogical strategies, and I have even felt isolated as a teacher. Professional learning networks are a powerful and effective tool that allows educators to continually improve their craft. Even though I have been in this field for almost a decade, I don’t think I had ever heard the term “professional learning network” so I was not sure that I was involved in such a thing. After learning a bit more about this concept, I realized that I would not have been able to make it this far without them.


The Power of Sharing

If an educator is completely honest, my guess would be that over 90% of us did not join this field to bathe in the glorious paychecks. Money is not what drew us to the classroom. While the exact reasons may vary, “making a difference in the lives of students” probably is a common theme that drives individuals to dedicate their lives to the craft of teaching. Reflecting on those early days oftentimes stirs that same passion again and again. All this is to say that Professional Learning Networks provide a unique ability for teachers to extend how they make a difference in the lives of students. These networks allow teachers to share intangible resources, such as their wisdom, their encouragement and their comic relief (which we all desperately need from time to time). PLN’s also allow teachers to share practical resources, such as innovative activities, proven instructional strategies, as well as helping quickly spread new trends that enhance classroom practices. There is something about sharing and giving back to the educational community that unites teachers under a common purpose and goal: making a difference in the lives of all students.


My Personal Learning Networks

I have utilized several PLN’s over the years and am thankful for the opportunity to both consume and contribute through them.


Twitter (@WoodsThinks)

This PLN is my bread and butter. I like that both institutions and individuals contribute content and that the user can develop a personalized learning experience for their own professional development. I don’t know how many times I have seen something on Twitter and then implemented it either in my classroom or passed it along to someone else on my campus. I have learned how to use Twitter to help form those relational connections that allow for true collaboration. I have also experienced significant learning by participating in Twitter chats, which allow for a large number of people to contribute their thoughts on a particular topic. Some of my most trusted tweeters are listed below:



TCEA (Texas Computer Education Association)

I am an active member of TCEA, which is a network that focuses on the innovative use of technology to support learning experiences for students. Every year, they host an annual conference, where a range of presenters and exhibitors, from educational companies to general classroom teachers, showcase and train others on effective ways that have engaged and instructed students. This conference is definitely a highlight of the year. I have been able to gain knowledge and then help implement some of those things back on my home campus. In February of 2020, I even got to meet one of my “Teacher Heroes” - Mary Kemper. Mary serves as the Director of Mathematics for Coppell ISD and is an Apple Distinguished Educator. Through Twitter, she introduced me to the use of Apple’s Numbers application to create interactive mathematics documents. These documents utilize specific features to allow students to interact with abstract concepts in never-before-seen ways. The combination of both PLN’s, Twitter and TCEA, allowed me to make a personal connection with another like-minded educator. The Innovation & Learning team from Midway ISD and I are planning to present a few sessions at TCEA in the future and I am excited to contribute to the educational community in a way that may assist other teachers and districts.


This network allows you to build your network, linking to people both in and out of your professional field. Participants can post resources (links, blogs, etc.), but I have found that beneficial material is harder to come by on this network.


Apple Education (Apple Teachers)

It is a quick and easy process to become an Apple Teacher. This tech-driven PLN gives you exclusive access to professional development and innovative lesson ideas produced by Apple’s educational team. These include interactive iBooks, coding curriculum, self-paced PD, and more. Being a part of this network has also allowed me to develop professional relationships with other Apple Teachers and Apple Distinguished Educators. Whether connections are made at conferences such as TCEA or ISTE or the utilization of Twitter, this community has greatly helped my professional growth as an educator.


As I continue to serve in the field of education, I am always looking to broaden my PLN’s, but more importantly, looking for ways that I can increase my participation in the networks to which I already belong. I am brainstorming on the best ways to use this blog and my ePortfolio to contribute and create interactions among the educational community. Even if one teacher or even one student benefits from what I have to share - mission accomplished.


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page